Skip to content

Ava Athletes Named to All-SCA Teams; Nathan Houk is SCA Coach of the Year

Ava teams did quite well in all-conference balloting which was held last week, at the close of the 2011-12 basketball season.

Ava has three first-team selections on the all-SCA teams – Austin Gastineau, Payton Lakey and Jorie Garrett – plus first-year boys’ coach Nathan Houk was named SCA Coach of the Year, having won the SCA with an unblemished 7-0 record.

Ava also landed four players on the all-district teams this year.

Lady Bears making all-district are seniors Payton Lakey and Jorie Garrett. Boys on the all-district team are junior Austin Gastineau and senior Zach Leonard.

A complete rundown of the all-district voting can be found in “The Snoop” this week.

Following are the all-SCA teams in detail

All-SCA Boys

1st Team

Austin Henry, 6-1, Sr., Thayer; Jaelon Acklin, 6-2, Soph., Liberty; Jacob Kettner, 6-4, Sr,, Salem; Austin Gastineau, 5-11, Jr., Ava; Ricky Smith, 6-3, Sr., Thayer.

2nd Team

Zach Leonard, 6-5, Sr., Ava; Curry VanHorn, 5-8, Sr., Houston; James Denton, 5-10, Soph., Liberty; Chad Elliott, 6-4, Jr., Salem; Dylan Dennis, 6-2, Sr., Thayer; Joe Chilton, 6-4, Sr., Willow Springs.

Honorable Mention

Ben Loge, 6-1, Soph., Ava; Drew Pearson, 6-2, Jr., Cabool; Rodney Preheim, 6-1, Sr., Houston; Jordan Pruett, 6-2, Sr., Liberty; Bobby Otwell, 6-1, Soph., Mtn. Grove; Cody Whitaker, 5-11, Soph., Salem; Levi Hargrove, 6-1, Soph., Thayer; Travis Wake, 5-10, Sr., Willow Springs.

Player of the Year: Jacob Kettner, Salem; Coach of the Years: Nathan Houk, Ava.

All-SCA Girls

1st Team

Kyndall Bunch, Willow Springs; Payton Lakey, Ava; Jorie Garrett, Ava; Taylor Pruett, Liberty; Emily Eckman, Thayer.

2nd Team

Kamryn Hutsell, Willow Springs; Kyra Bunch, Willow Springs; Kylee Elmore, Houston; Maddie Halford, Mtn. Grove; Jordan Alford, Thayer.

Honorable Mention

Jamie Reaves, Cabool; Kassidy Ledgerwood, Liberty; Ashlynn Rogers, Mtn. Grove; Abbie Lansdown, Ava; Brittney Whetstine, Cabool; Haylee Kell, Houston; Rebecca Feston, Mtn. Grove; Kaytlyn Wells, Salem; Laken Martin, Thayer; Tash Burtchett, Willow Springs; Demittra Walkup, Liberty.

Player of the Year: Kyndall Bunch, Willow Springs; Coach of the Year, D.J. Gutscher, Willow Springs.