Skip to content

Rowland Report 1.17.2013

I officially began my service as state representative of the 155th District after being sworn in during a ceremony Wednesday, January 9 in the Missouri State Capitol.  I joined 160 other state representatives who were administered the oath of office during opening day proceedings in the Missouri House of Representatives.

It was a great honor and humbling experience to once again stand with all the other members, both new and returning, and take the oath to uphold the US and Missouri Constitutions.  I am excited about the coming session and welcome the challenges we will surely face as we work to ensure Missouri remains on the path to prosperity.

Members gathered in the House Chamber as Secretary of State Robin Carnahan gaveled in the beginning of the 97th General Assembly.  Missouri Supreme Court Chief Justice Richard Teitelman then administered the oath of office to all 163 representatives.  At the conclusion of the swearing in ceremony, Secretary Carnahan began the nomination process for temporary Speaker of the House.  Judge Dan Pelikan of the 11th Circuit Court of Missouri swore in Rep. Tim Jones, R-Eureka, as the Speaker of the Missouri House of Representatives.

We have a tough session ahead of us as we address the pressing issues facing our state but I am confident we will remain focused and determined to making the State of Missouri the greatest place to live, work, and raise a family.

The 97th General Assembly is made up of 163 representatives and 34 senators.  In the House, there are 56 first-term legislators.

On the committee side I was appointed Vice-Chair of Educational Appropriations and the Vice-Chair of Emerging Issues in Agriculture.  I also have been appointed to the Education, Retirement, and Natural Resources & Tourism Committees.

My contact information at the Capitol: 201 West Capitol Avenue, Room 413A, Jefferson City MO  65101,

573-751-2042, and Home:  2333 Moores Bend Road, Cedarcreek MO  65627, 417-794-3493.

As always, it is a privilege to represent you in State Government.