Skip to content

Ava City Council: Sidewalk Repair, Boom Truck Repair, Committee Appointments

On Tuesday, January 26th, the Ava Board of Aldermen convened for a business session at 5 p.m.

City Finances

City Treasurer Peggy Porter reported that the city funds were in good shape. She reminded the board that the balances were not a cash balance, but rather the value of city liabilities subtracted from the value of the city assets.

Porter also mentioned that the city was making progress towards reducing debt, with the city pool scheduled to be paid off within the next calendar year.

Sidewalk Resolution

The Aldermen voted 4-0 to give Mayor Loftin the permission to seek and if offered, accept a MoDot TAP (Transportation Alternative Program) grant to rework “highly trafficked” sidewalks from the southeast corner of the square, past the courthouse and license bureau to City Hall. The estimated cost for the work is $177,000, which the city would need to match 20% of.

Sidewalk Repair

The aldermen voted 4-0 to repair a section of sidewalk along the north side of the Wade Law Office on the northwest corner of the square. The existing sidewalk has sunken and cracked. The estimated cost of the repair by Hessling Construction is $750.00.

Planning/Zoning Commission

The aldermen voted 4-0 to appoint Dick Salgado to the planning and zoning commission for a 1-year term, replacing Sara Sawyer.

Park and Recreation Advisory Committee

The aldermen voted 4-0 to re-appoint Brad Evans and Terry Lee to the Park and Recreation Advisory Committee for two year terms.

Boom Truck Repair

The aldermen voted 4-0 to repair the city’s largest boom truck at an estimated cost of $20,500. The city discovered a stress crack on the boom and the entire boom needs to be replaced. The truck will be out of service for 2-4 weeks.


Councilmen present in-person were Billy Stewart, Noel Dye, and Stan Lovan. Keith Jones attended via video teleconference.

Next Meeting

City officials and aldermen will reconvene on February 9th at 5 p.m. at City Hall. Meetings are open to the public.