Skip to content

All-Ava Football

The 2019 Ava High School Football team All-Conference members are shown in an image taken on Friday, January 31, 2020 in Ava, Missouri. From top left: James Peuppke, Jacob Lakey, Dylan King, Kayden Myers, Colby Miles, Nate Swofford, Evan Horn, Zach Mendel. Bottom row, from left: Jacob Eastling, Westyn Merritt, Jacob Bruffet, Spencer Skyles, Josh Bray, and Blake King. The group was named to several honorary teams following their first state championship appearance including Class 2 All-State, All-Area, All-District, All-Conference and even media awards. (Jason Hoekema/Herald)

This year’s Class 2 All-State Honorees from left: Josh Bray, Kayden Myers and Nate Swofford stand for a photo on Friday, January 23, 2020, in Ava, Missouri. The trio led the Bears to success with individual talents. Bray made the 2nd Team as a Linebacker and Swofford the 2nd Team quarterback. Myers was named to 1st Team defense, as a linebacker. (Jason Hoekema/Herald)

Ava High School head football coach Dan Swofford and Nate Swofford pose for a photo on Friday, January 31, 2020, in Ava, Missouri. This season was special, not just because of the team’s success, but a father-and-son were bestowed the awards of All-State Class 2 Coach of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year on top of sharing a unique experience together. (Jason Hoekema/Herald)