Skip to content

Voter Turnout for Douglas County Election Higher Than Expected

The unofficial results of the August 7 Primary Election have been tallied and according to the total number of ballots cast, voter turnout was much higher than expected.  The ballot count shows 33.60 percent of registered voters voiced their opinions yesterday.  

According to the election summary report provided by the County Clerk’s office, in Douglas County, there are 9,312 registered voters, and during yesterday’s election, 3,129 voters participated.  The ballot party breakdown shows 2,792 voters cast a Republican ballot, with the Democratic party showing 322 voters.  The non-partisan and Libertarian votes totaled 15.  

In Douglas County, seven county office holders were on the ballot for re-election, but the only office being contested was the County Clerk position, and that contest was a runaway by incumbent Karry Davis who received 75 percent of the total ballots or 1,997 votes.  Challenger Cassie Wallace received 656 votes, or 24.73 percent of the vote.  

The six other county offices on the ballot were Lance Stillings, presiding commissioner, 2,149 votes; Kim Hathcock, 2,249 votes; Jacinda Sheppard, 2,148; Theresa Miller, county treasurer, 2,185; Christopher Wade, prosecuting attorney, 2,184; and Laura Stillings, collector of revenue, 2,317.  

In the McMurtrey Township committeeman race, Robert Hamilton registered 54 votes, and Wayne Griswold, 15. 

For McMurtrey Township committeewoman, Judith Hutchison received 50 votes, Susie Griswold, 20. 

In the race for State Representative District 155, candidate Karla Eslinger received just over 60 percent with 1,587 votes.  Jack Clemens came in second with 537 votes, and Mike Lind, 517. 

For circuit judge, Craig Carter received 2,289 votes, and for associate circuit judge, Elizabeth Bock, 2,130.  

The Proposition A right-to-work question was rejected throughout the State of Missouri, and it was also defeated by Douglas County voters, as the option received 1,589 no votes and 1,483 in favor.  The issue was highly contested throughout the state, and the margin of difference in Douglas County was 3.5 percent or 106 votes.  

In nearby Ozark County, the Gainesville R-V Proposition failed with 689 votes for the tax levy adjustment, and 704 against.  In Douglas County, two votes were cast on the issue, and both were no.  

In the state race for auditor, Douglas County voters selected Saundra McDowell as their Republican choice with 733 votes, and Democratic incumbent Nicole Galloway received 257 Douglas County votes.   The unofficial statewide tally shows incumbent Nicole Galloway will be challenged by Republican Saundra McDowell, along with Constitution candidate Jacob Luetkemeyer, Green Party candidate Don Fitz, and Libertarian Sean O’Toole. 

In the U. S. Senate race, Douglas County voters selected Republican candidate Josh Hawley, with 1,647 votes, and incumbent Claire McCaskell, with 261 votes.  Unofficially, statewide, Missouri Attorney General Josh Hawley received 389,006 votes, and Sen. Claire McCaskill, 500162, or 82 percent.  

In the U. S. State Representative race, District 8, Jason Smith received 2,088 Douglas County votes, and Democratic challenger Kathy Ellis, 270.  Libertarian party candidate Jonathan Shell, 7 votes, and Green party candidates Jo Crain and Jerome Bauer, 0 votes. 

The last day to register as a voter for the November General Election is October 10, 2018.  The following month, voters will go to the polls once again to voice their opinions, on Tuesday, Nov. 6.