Skip to content

Council Appoints New Members to Planning and Zoning Commission

By Sue Curry Jones

The Ava Board of Aldermen met on Friday, August 5, for a business meeting, and several votes were recorded during the session.

In a 4-0 vote, with motions from aldermen Leon Harris and Keith Jones, council ended the tenure of planning and zoning commissioners Jeff Davis, Jamie Dry and Josh Wilber.  In a prior meeting, with councils’ recent passage of new ordinances for planning and zoning, these three individuals were required to step down, as rules now stipulate commissioners must live within the city limits of Ava, Mo.

Council also voted 4-0 to accept Andy Daniel’s resignation from the commission board, as it was verbally tendered in the last council meeting.  Motions to accept were by council-men Burrely Loftin and Stan Lovan.

New commissioners appointed to fill the slots and serve on planning and zoning are: Oren Alcorn, Ann Leonard, Scott Fleetwood and Sara Sawyer.  This group was approved in a 4-0 vote, with motions by aldermen Jones and Loftin.  These four new board members join three other city residents who presently serve on the commission, they are Jack Hamer, Scott Stark and Lane Lakey.

Each new commissioner is slated to serve a four-year term.

Administrative Director Peggy Porter reported city financials were up “a little bit.”  She advised fund balances were around $1.7 million.

Council reviewed two bids that had been submitted for the overhaul and repair of the City Hall retaining wall which is located on the south side of the building parking lot.  The bids were submitted by Jim Gray, of Ava, for $13,500, and Zach Uhing, of Ava, $10,034.   Council chose Uhing for the job as his bid was lower in costs. The vote was 4-0, with motions by Loftin and Harris.  Council also voted to compensate Gray for writing specifications for the project, as his specs were used by the city in the bid process.  The approved amount was $500.

Prior to adjourning for the evening, council approved the municipal court docket with a 4-0 vote, with motions by aldermen Jones and Lovan.  No closed session meeting was held.

Board members present were Stan Lovan, Leon Harris, Burrely Loftin, and Keith Jones.

This past week council met on Friday, August 5, due to scheduling conflicts.  Returning to the standard Tuesday schedule, aldermen and city officials will reconvene on August 23 at 5:00 p.m. at City Hall.  Meetings are open to the public.