Skip to content

Voters Will Cast Ballots On Tuesday, April 5

Voters will go to the polls next Tuesday to elect school board members in the county and to decide an important tax levy increase proposal for the Skyline R-2 School District.

In the Ava R-1 School District, five candidates are seeking election to two regular three-year terms on the board. Candidates are Lowell Strong, Troy Tredway, Connie (Collins) Hetherington, Kenny Fleetwood and Mark Henry.

In the Skyline R-2 School District, three candidates are running for two positions. They are James Brixey, Scott Johnson and Sarah Harden.

No election will be held in the Plainview R-8 School District because only two candidates filed for the two positions available.

In addition to the candidates for school board, patrons at Skyline R-2 will decide a proposed measure to increase the school’s tax levy from $2.95 to $3.43 per one hundred dollars assessed valuation. School officials say this increase is necessary for the district to continue providing quality education to the students of the district.

By increasing the levy to $3.43, the district will be eligible for additional state money not currently received by the district.

An election will also be held in the City of Ava to elect two council members to the Board of Aldermen. However, only incumbent East Ward Alderman Keith Jones and incumbent West Ward Alderman Stan Lovan are candidates.

Unlike school districts, municipalities must hold an election even if only the necessary number of candidates has filed.

One other ballot issue to be decided on April 5 is in the Ava Area Ambulance District which involves the western half of Douglas County.

Patrons will be asked to retain collection of sales taxes on titling of vehicles, boats, motors and trailers purchased in another state other than Missouri.

This measure only pertains to motor vehicles, boats, outboard motors and trailers purchased somewhere other than in Missouri. Other purchases are not affected by this proposal.

Polls for Tuesday’s election will open at 6 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. A complete list of all polling places in the county can be found with the sample ballot that was published in the Herald last week and again in this newspaper.

Residents of Bradleyville, Cabool, Gainesville, Norwood and Willow Springs school districts who live in Douglas County will vote at locations in this county.

Ballots for those school districts are also included with the sample ballot information.