Skip to content

All-Conference Baseball Selections Are Named

Coaches of the South Central Association have named all-conference baseball selections for the 2015 season.
Five Ava Bears received all-conference recognition, with three from Ava receiving first team honors, one second team and one receiving honorable mention.
The Bears finished the season in the semifinals of the district tournament with a record of 12-9. The Bears were 6-1 in the conference, losing only to Mtn. Grove, which won their district but lost in state sectional play.
Following is the complete SCA all-conference roster.
1st Team
Pitchers: Garrett Newberry, Mtn. Grove, sr.; Cale Corman, Mtn.View-Liberty, jr.
Infielders: Tanner Barnes, Cabool, jr.; Chase Gastineau, Ava, sr.; Brock Coffman, Mtn. Grove, soph.; Landon Tyler, Thayer, jr.
Outfielders: Shannon Porter, Ava, sr.; Brodrick Davis, Cabool, sr.; Tucker Hargrove, Thayer, jr.
Catcher: Morgan Smith, Ava, jr.
Utility/DH: Tanner Cantrell, Houston, sr.
2nd Team
Pitchers: Alex Moore, Mtn. Grove, jr.; Kory Ramsey, Salem, soph.
Infielders: Cody Huff, Ava, sr.; Kolby Walker, Houston, sr.; D.J. McNew, Mtn. Grove, jr.; Dakota Millard, Mtn. View-Liberty, jr.; Kobe Mead, Salem, jr.
Outfielders: Kyle Wilson, Houston, sr.; Janson Acklin, Mtn. View-Liberty, sr.; Easton Collins, Mtn. Grove, sr.
Catcher: Treye Collins, Mtn. Grove, soph.
Utility/DH: Corbin Dewick, Mtn. View-Liberty, jr.
Honorable Mention
Zack Hunsaker, Ava, jr., pitcher; Ayden Henry, Thayer, jr., infield; Drew Ridges, Willow Springs, sr., infield; Cameron Howard, Salem, jr., outfield; Dakota McDaniel, Willow Springs, fresh., outfield; Lucas Combs, Willow Springs, sr., utility; Jon Arzt, Salem, soph., utility; Jacob Mitchell, Mtn. Grove, sr., utility; Logan Stillwell, Cabool, jr., infield; Stetson Welch, Houston, jr., pitcher; Blaine Halford, Mtn. Grove, jr., outfield; Cole Orchard, Mtn. View, fresh., infield; Cody Manthey, Salem, soph., outfield; Dakota Poulette, Thayer, soph., utility; Blake Pollard, Willow Springs, sr., infield.
SCA Player of the Year: Tanner Cantrell, Houston
SCA Coach of the Year: Derwin McGown, Mtn. Grove.