Skip to content

The Snoop 8.14.2014

You’ve seen the results of the primary election in Douglas County, but we thought you might like to know what happened in adjoining counties. So we went “Snooping” in other newspapers and found results for some of our neighbors.
In Wright County’s only contested race, Associate Circuit Judge Lynette Veenstra, the incumbent, defeated challenger Lee Pipkins by only 30 votes, according to the Mansfield Mirror.
The Cabool Enterprise reported that, in Texas County, Parke Stevens Jr. unseated incumbent Mike Anderson in the Republican primary  for Texas County prosecuting attorney.  Stevens has no opponent in the November general election.
The Houston Herald reported that in Texas County, a tax levy for roads and bridges in the Burdine Township was soundly defeated.
The Licking News said 31 percent of the registered voters in Texas County voted on Aug. 5.
Taney County Presiding Commissioner was unseated by challenger Mike Scofield, it was reported in the Taney County Times. The Times reported that incumbent County Clerk Donna Neeley defeated challenger James Strahan, and incumbent Recorder of Deeds Robert “Bob” Dixon defeated challenger Josh Smith.
Also in Taney County, Eric Eighmy topped a four-candidate race in the Republican primary to become the new associate circuit judge. Eighmy defeated Bob Paulson, Tim Davis and Michele Wilson to replace James Justus who plans to retire at the end of the year and did not seek re-election.
Taney County Circuit Clerk Brenda Neal is retiring after 16 years, and four candidates also ran for her position on the Republican ticket. Beth Wyman defeated Reba Retell, James Holvick, and Scott Starrett.
In the state representative District 156 race, Republican incumbent Jeff Justus retained his seat by holding off challenger Ron Herschend by a 3-to-1 margin.
In the U.S. Representative District 7 race, Republican incumbent Billy Long defeated Marshall Works, and will face the Democratic winner, Jim Evans, and Libertarian Kevin Craig in the general election. Evans defeated Genevieve in the Democratic primary, the Taney County Times reported.
The Ozark County Times reported that Cynthia MacPherson came from behind to defeat John Russo for associate circuit judge. In the Republican race for presiding commissioner, John Turner defeated three other candidates and will face Democrat Dennis Lawson in the general election. A third candidate may also be on the ballot in November, the Times said, because independent candidate Tom Taylor has submitted a petition to have his name added to the ballot.
Oregon County will have a new prosecuting attorney in January. The West Plains Daily Quill reported that current prosecutor Fred O’Neill, a Democrat, did not seek re-election this year. The only candidate for the job was Jennifer Hyde Crask, a Democrat, who will be on the November ballot.
Circuit Court Clerk Rhonda Hall, of Thayer, lost to challenger Rosemary Romans in the Democratic primary on Oregon County.
Oregon County will see several contested races in November as both Democrats and Republicans were represented on the ballot for county offices.
There were no county-wide races in the primary election in Howell County, according to the sample ballot published in the Quill.
In Webster County, the Marshfield Mail reports that Benjamin Berkstresser defeated incumbent prosecuting attorney Danette Padgett and incumbent Recorder of Deeds Don Letterman defeated Tina Savas. Republican David Tunnell will face Democrat James Owen for associate circuit judge in November. Tunnell defeated Cynthia Black and Teresa Rieger Householder. Owen, who was unopposed, was appointed to the bench by Gov. Jay Nixon after Judge Donald Cheever retired.
Also in Webster County, voters approved a quarter-cent sales tax to build a new jail, but refused to use tax to maintain the jail.
Marshfield R-1 School District voters turned down a 64-cent levy increase for operational expenses.
In Christian County, Eastern District Commissioner Ray Weter won the presiding commissioner seat by defeating Republicans Tom Chudomelka, Robert Palmer, Chris Snyder and Derek Watkins. Lacy Hart defeated Norma Ryan by 44 votes to win the auditor’s race, according to the Christian County Headliner.
Doug Bacon won the Republican nomination for associate circuit judge in Christian County, defeating Patty Shilling and Ron Cleek. There is no Democrat candidate in November.
We turned to the Missouri Secretary of State’s website to get the final rundown on the constitutional amendments.
Amendment No. 1, the Right to Farm, won by a narrow margin of 2,537 votes, 50.127% to 49.873%.
Amendment No. 5, the unalienable right to bear arms, won 61% to 39%.
Amendment No. 7, the MoDOT 3/4-cent sales tax, failed 41% to 59%.
Amendment No. 8, which would have created a Veterans’ Lottery Ticket, failed 45% to 55 %.
Amendment No. 9, which protects Missourians’ electronic data from unreasonable search and seizure, passed 75% to 25%.