Skip to content

Dorothy Norman Chapter of NHS Recognizes Graduates, New Officers

Senior members of the Dorothy Norman Chapter of National Honor Society. Front row: MiKaela Bristol, Emory Parham and Bailey Lee. Back Row: Kathrin Aid, Kymber Koop, Rachel Swofford, Kacy Longino and Elizabeth Ferguson. (Not pictured: Emily Armour and John Vineyard).

Eleven seniors from Ava High School were honored at the National Honor Society ceremony held April 27. Those honored were Kathrin Aid, Emily Armour, MiKaela Bristol, Stefanie Ellis, Elizabeth Ferguson, Kymber Koop, Bailey Lee, Kacy Longino, Emory Parham, Rachel Swofford and John Vineyard. Seniors who completed their community service hours and were in good scholastic standing were presented with gold NHS stoles to wear at graduation.
During a candlelight ceremony, Juliana Baker recognized retiring officers and installed the 2014-2015 officers.  Retiring officers were President Kacy Longino, Vice President Kayla Casey, Secretary Kathrin Aid, and Historian Josie Kjar.  New officers are President Kayla Casey, Vice President Ruby Kilgore, Secretary Casey Ritchie and Historian Jimilynn Raybould.
Mr. Max Murphy presented the Tracy Murphy Memorial Scholarship to Kathrin Aid and Bailey Lee.  While members of NHS, Kathrin and Bailey have been very active in NHS and our community.  Together, they have completed many hours of community service.
Kathrin Aid is the daughter of Kristen McFarlin and Sherwood Aid.  After graduation, she plans to attend the College of the Ozarks to pursue a career in Physical therapy to assist patients suffering from traumatic brain injuries.  She also plans to minor in Christian ministries.
Bailey Lee is the daughter of Tim and Missy Lee.  After graduation, she plans to attend Truman State University to major in exercise science to become a physical therapist.
Mr. and Mrs. Max Murphy established the Tracy Murphy Scholarship in 1987 to honor the memory of Tracy Murphy, an original member of the Ava Chapter of National Honor Society.  To date, fifty-six deserving NHS members have been awarded this $1000 scholarship.
The recipients of his generosity have gone on to become teachers, software architects, nurses, loan officers, accountants, business owners, business managers,  lawyers, sales professionals, x-ray technicians and, most important, successful and caring community members.  Through these scholarship winners, the Tracy Murphy Scholarship continues to affect the lives of others.