Skip to content

No Races In April Elections This Year In Douglas County, City With Uncontested Races

Filing for the April municipal and school elections expired Tuesday with no races established in Douglas County.
Only the City of Ava will be required to hold an election on April 8, but even there, no races exist for the two council seats up for grabs.
Voters in Ava will elect two aldermen to serve on the City Council, one from the East Ward and one from the West Ward.
In the East Ward, Keith Jones has filed for a first term, to fill the position currently held by Ric Engelhardt who is not seeking re-election.
In the West Ward, incumbent David Norman is unopposed for re-election.
County Clerk Karry Davis said in municipal elections, voters must be given an opportunity to write in a candidate’s name even if only one person has filed for the office.
In the Ava R-1 School District, three incumbents whose terms are expiring have filed for re-election, and no other candidates have filed.
When the number of candidates equals the number of positions to be filled on a local school board, no election is required. So, Ron Wallace, Marsha Aborn and Randy Spurlock will return to the Ava R-1 Board of Education.
Likewise, in the Skyline R-2 District, incumbent board members Tim Scrivner and WRoy Roworth are candidates for re-election, along with Leslie Krider who is seeking a first term on the board. Three regular 3-year terms are expiring.
In the Plainview R-8 District, voters will be filling three regular 3-year terms plus an unexpired 2-year term. But again, only the needed number of candidates has filed.
Incumbents Mandy Lehmann and Dustin Mitchell are candidates for the 3-year terms, along with Derek Wilkerson. Ronnie Trent, who currently serves on the board, is a candidate for the 2-year term.
No election will be needed in the Ava Area Ambulance District where only two incumbents have filed for re-election.
In District No. 3, which includes Campbell, Springcreek and Walls townships, James Brown is a candidate for re-election. In District No. 6, which involves Benton Township east of Highway 5 and south of Highway 14, Keith Moore has filed for re-election.