Skip to content

Rep. Tony Dugger To Serve on Election Procedures Committee

JEFFERSON CITY – Local Representative Tony Dugger has been selected by Missouri Speaker of the House Tim Jones to serve on the Interim Committee on Election Procedures. Jones has asked members of the committee to use the interim to discuss and develop a plan to remove old, outdated laws and to remove duplicative language from Missouri statutes.

Before serving in the Missouri House, Dugger served as the Wright County Clerk where he saw first-hand the growing problems with Missouri’s election laws. “Over time the General Assembly has passed numerous elections related legislation in order to reflect the current process and machines,” said Dugger. “However, with each new law that has been passed, old and unnecessary statutes have not been removed.”

Rep. Sue Entlicher, R- Bolivar will serve as the committee’s chair with Rep. Gary Cross, R-Lee’s Summit, serving as vice chairman. Other members include:  Reps. Tony Dugger, R-Hartville; Mike Colona, D- St. Louis; Pat Conway, D- St. Joseph; John Diehl, R-Town and County; Randy Dunn, D-Kansas City; Joe Don McGaugh, R-Carrollton; Dave Muntzel, R- Boonville; Myron Neth, R-Liberty; Stacey Newman, D-St. Louis; and Bryan Spencer, R-Wentzville.

The Interim Committee on Elections Procedures is scheduled to hold an organizational meeting on June 27 in Jefferson City.