Skip to content

Filing Ends For April Elections

The filing deadline for the April municipal and school elections did not pass without a few late announcements, and perhaps some surprises.

Former city employee Lonnie Atchison filed Tuesday for mayor of Ava, placing three names in that race. Previously announcing were incumbent Eddie Maggard who will seek reelection, along with former mayor Leon Harris.

East Ward Alderman Burrely Loftin and West Ward Alderman Billy Long are unopposed for reelection.

In the Ava R-1 School District, three candidates have filed. They include Jeff Davis and Don Scrivner, along with the latest to file, Dan Watson. Two board members are to be elected.

Two board members will also be elected in the Skyline R-2 District where four candidates are on the slate. They are John Homer, Gary Lewis, James Brixey and Dana Smith.

In the Plainview R-8 School District, two have filed for the two positions to be filled. Candidates are Logan Larsen and Amy D. Kembel.

No election will be necessary in the Ava Area Ambulance District where only one candidate has filed for each of the two positions to be filled.

Lowell (Dee) Cutbirth has filed for reelection in District #2 (Findley, Miller and Boone townships), and Vernon Johnson is a candidate for the board position in District #5 which involves Benton Township west of Highway 5.

The annual elections will be held on Tuesday, April 2.