Skip to content

Sheriff Chris Degase Reelected In County's Only Contested Race

Douglas County Sheriff Chris Degase was reelected by a significant margin in the only county race at Tuesday’s general election.
Degase, a Republican, received 4,293 votes to 2,107 for challenger, independent candidate W.G. “Bill” Rowe.
Not surprisingly, Douglas County voters supported the Republican ticket down the line, although the overall outcome of state and national elections did not reflect that viewpoint.
President Barack Obama defeated Mitt Romney in the presidential race, and Democratic incumbent Claire McCaskill was reelected to the U.S. Senate, defeating Republican Todd Akin.
Governor Jay Nixon, a Democrat, was also reelected over Republican challenger Dave Spence.