Skip to content

White River Electric Co-Op Reports Record Turnout at Annual Meeting

BRANSON – A record turnout of 1,500 registered members were at White River Valley Electric Cooperative’s 73rd Annual Meeting of Members on Sept. 8 at the Tri-Lakes Center in Branson to vote on three board of director positions.
Nominees for the board who were voted on and approved are: Bob Simmons, Taney County; Bill Davis, Christian County; and Russell Loftin, Douglas County. Each of these board members will serve a three-year term on a nine-person board with Layne Morrill, Keet Short, Russell Jackson, Joe Breazele, Bill Cook and Pat Funk.
The more than 2,600 total attendees (members plus guests) watched a video highlighting the history of WRVEC and what the co-op does for the community today. Board Member Bob Simmons was awarded the Touchstone Energy Power and Hope Award for his commitment to the community, one of the Touchstone Energy principles.
CEO Chris Hamon discussed current issues at White River Electric: old vs. new building, green globes, building efficiency, the leap day tornado and the future of the co-op. He then opened it up for questions from the floor.
Hamon said to the packed auditorium, “It’s our mission to provide our members with safe, reliable power at the lowest cost possible. Mother Nature and the federal government through new regulations keep throwing curve balls at your cooperative… We will do our best to communicate our position now and in the future to you, our member owners.”
Members were treated to a car show, free refreshments, a health assessment from Skaggs Regional Medical Center and entertainment by Clay Cooper’s Country Express.
The children’s play area included a live trout fishing pond. More than 80 attendance prizes, including $350 in free electricity, were given away following the business meeting.
The date for next year’s WRVEC annual meeting is Sept. 14, 2013.