Skip to content

Local Delta Kappa Gamma Chapter Meets April 21

The Gamma Phi Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma met on Saturday, April 21, at the Cabool United Methodist Church to conduct business, install officers and enjoy an “African Mission” presentation given by Ethan Rogers, a 2010 Cabool High School graduate.

President Gina Clinkingbeard shared a report from the Delta State Conference, which was held April 13-15.  Gamma Phi received state recognition for an Early Education Award for their contributions to beginning teachers in the Ava, Cabool, Houston and Willow Springs school districts.  State President, Bev Teri, announced that the national organization of Delta Kappa Gamma has contributed over $70,000 to the Schools for Africa project of which Gamma Phi is a contributor.

Vicki Dudley, scholarship committee chair, reported Gamma Phi will award two $500 Grant-In Aid Scholarships to Lacey Tucker and Emily Sterling of Ava High School.

Janice Lowe, professional affairs chair, led the 2012-13 officer installation ceremony consisting of Diane Moore, president; Brenda Jarrett, first vice president; Mary Jane Lybyer, second vice president; Sherry Wheat, recording secretary; Vicki Dudley, corresponding secretary; Louise Rader, treasurer and Gina Clinkingbeard, past president.

The Cabool ladies were program leaders with Cindy Baker giving the devotional and the Sisters in Song of the Cabool Methodist Church providing special music.

Ethan Rogers, of the Mt. Ararat Church, shared his mission trip to the Cape Verde Islands and Guinea Bissau.  The goal of the trip was to GPS school locations for the government, and members of the mission trip also shared literature with 27,000 school children.

Gamma Phi members enjoyed a delicious luncheon prepared by the Eunice Whittaker Circle of the Cabool United Methodist Church. Tables were decorated with African violets and African print table runners and napkins.

The next Gamma Phi meeting is July 21st at the Hillbilly Junction at Willow Springs.

Ava Gamma Phi members are: Gina Clinkingbeard, Vicki Dudley, Venae Heier, Cathy Lawler, Elaine Lawler, Suzette Litwiller and Mindy Pinckney.