Skip to content

Filing Begins for August Primary; County Races Already Forming

Filing for the Aug. 7 primary election began Tuesday morning, and already several races are shaping up in Douglas County.

There was some question whether candidates would actually be allowed to file because state officials have been unable to agree on boundaries for Missouri senatorial districts. However, since county races are not affected by the state boundaries, filing began on schedule, and will continue through March 27.

Incumbents who have announced as candidates for the Aug. 7 primary this week, all on the Republican ticket, include Sheriff Chris Degase, District 1 County Commissioner Richard Mitchell, Assessor Alicia Miller-Degase, Public Administrator Linda Coonts, and Coroner Rick Miller.

Challengers who have filed for sheriff include Charles Sliger and Scott Dinwiddie.

Also filing for assessor on Tuesday was Buddy Irby.

Four candidates have announced for District 2 County Commissioner. They include Louis Hicks, Danny Givans, Robert Roberts and Leon Potter. Incumbent Danny Dry has not filed for re-election at this time.

In district races, Ava attorney Dan Wade and Associate Circuit Judge Craig Carter, also of Ava, have announced as candidates for judge of the 44th Judicial Circuit. Judge John Moody is not a candidate for re-election.

State Representative Lyle Rowland, of Cedar Creek, who currently represents the 143rd District, has filed for representative of the new 155th District that will include Douglas, Ozark and part of Taney county following the election. Also a candidate for that position is Mike Lind, of Thornfield.

Tony Dugger, of Hartville, currently representative of the 144th District that encompasses Douglas County, has filed for representative of the 141st District. Under the redrawn boundaries, that district will include Wright and eastern Webster counties.

All candidates listed above have filed as Republicans.