Don't Miss
Home / _Correspondents / Ava Senior Center (page 5)

Ava Senior Center

Ava Senior Center

Here’s a poem I’m sure every senior can relate to:  A row of bottles on my shelf caused me to analyze:  One yellow pill I have to pop goes to my heart so it won’t stop.  A little white one ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Our menu for this week includes:  Monday, October 15—Chili, peanut butter sandwich, corn, fruit.  Tuesday, October 16—Open face turkey, mixed vegetables, pudding.  Wednesday, October 17—Catfish nuggets, hush puppies, cheesy potatoes, cobbler.  Thursday, October 18—Ham and beans, potatoes, spinach, cornbread, ice ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Our menu for this week includes:  Monday, October 8—Cheeseburger and fixings, savory potatoes, cake.  Tuesday, October 9—Chicken and dumplings, peas and carrots, coconut pudding.  Wednesday, October 10—Chicken fried steak, potatoes and gravy, hominy, roll, jell-o.  Thursday, October 11—Polish sausage, sauerkraut, ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Your body can’t function at its most basic level without ample amounts of water.  Drinking a glass or two of water before a meal can help portion control.  Staying properly hydrated is the only way we can effectively purge our ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Senior, for a more healthy heart, get active.  Extra weight does serious damage to your heart.  Try a 20-minute walk every evening.  Limiting saturated fats and trans fats will produce more good (HDL) cholesterol in your body.  Eat at least ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

With gas prices going through the roof again under the current administration, here are some ways to save:  watch your speed.  If 55 is the limit, drive it.  If 65 is the limit, stay at 60 and let those gas-guzzlers ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Our menu for this week includes:  Monday, September 10—Cashew chicken, egg roll, rice, Oriental vegetables, pudding.  Tuesday, September 11—Fish, cheesy potatoes, hush puppies, fruit.  Wednesday, September 12—Ham and beans, O’Brian potatoes, stewed tomatoes, cornbread, sherbet.  Thursday, September 13—Country fried steak, ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Here are some health tips for senior men:  get the screenings you need for routine blood pressure and cholesterol checks; colonoscopies for cancer; ultrasounds for abdominal aortic aneurysms and blood tests for diabetes.  Get your weight under control.  Think preventive ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Our activities this week includes: Monday–Tai Chi exercise class at 10:30.  Tuesday—OATS bus to adjoining county.  Wednesday—OATS bus to Ava.  Friday—OATS bus to Ava, Tai Chi exercise class 10:30. The menu on: Monday, August 27—Taco salad, Mexican corn, cookie.  Tuesday, ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Our menu for this week includes:  Monday, August 13—BBQ meatballs, macaroni and cheese, 3-bean salad, cake.  Tuesday, August 14—Cook’s Choice.  Wednesday, August 15–Roast beef, mashed potatoes and gravy, carrots, roll, pudding.  Thursday, August 16—Home style chicken, cheesy potatoes, broccoli, salad ...

Read More »