Home / _Correspondents / Ava Senior Center (page 4)

Ava Senior Center

Ava Senior Center

Our menu for this week includes:  Monday, January 21—CLOSED for Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday.  Tuesday, January 22—Frito pie, carrots, salad bar, cake.  Wednesday, January 23—Turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans, roll, ice cream.  Thursday, January 24—Meatloaf, baked ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Our menu for this week is as follows:  Monday, January 14—Biscuit, gravy, sausage, egg, hash browns, fruit.  Tuesday, January 15—Salisbury steak, mushroom gravy, rice, stewed tomatoes, brownie.  Wednesday, January 16—Ham, sweet potatoes, peas and carrots, roll, pudding.  Thursday, January 17—Liver ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Our menu for this week includes:  Monday, January 7—Cheeseburger and fixings, savory potatoes, cake.  Tuesday, January 8—Chicken fried steak, mashed potatoes, gravy, beets, bread, jell-o with fruit.  Wednesday, January 9—Cashew chicken, rice, egg roll, Oriental vegetables, cookie.  Thursday, January 10—Pork ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

The menu for this shortened week is:  Monday, December 31—CLOSED.  Tuesday, January 1—CLOSED Happy New Year!!  Wednesday, January 2–Bone-in chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, corn, pudding.  Thursday, January 3—Open face turkey sandwich, broccoli, fruit.  Friday, January 4—Chili, crackers, peanut butter ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Our menu for this week is Monday, December 24—CLOSED for Christmas Eve.  Tuesday, December 25—CLOSED Merry Christmas!  Wednesday, December 26—Cashew chicken, rice, egg roll, Oriental vegetables, cookie.  Thursday, December 27—Brown bag sandwich, cookie.  Friday, December 28—Spaghetti and meatballs, green beans, ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Our menu for this week includes:  Monday, December 17—Beef stew, biscuit, pickled beets, brownie.  Tuesday, December 18—Country fried steak, potatoes and gravy, hominy, roll, jell-o with fruit.  Wednesday, December 19—Catfish nuggets, hush puppies, baked potato bar with all the fixings, ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Our menu for this week includes Monday, December 10—Cheeseburger and fixings, savory potatoes, cake.  Tuesday, December 11—Roast beef, potatoes and gravy, carrots, roll, pudding.  Wednesday, December 12—Ham and beans, O’Brian potatoes, stewed tomatoes, cornbread, sherbet.  Thursday, December 13—Sandwich, cookie.  Friday, ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Wow!  Do I have a lot to catch up. The winners of the pitch tournament on November 6 were Sue Pool (224), Claude Coberly (218) and Hulda Tipton (202).  Five games were played. The winners of the pinochle tournament on ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Last week’s news – Seniors, here are some ways to liven up your meals with fruits and vegetables.  Try grilling mushrooms, carrots, peppers and potatoes on a kabob skewer, brushing them with oil.  Or try peaches, pineapple and mangos.  Mix ...

Read More »

Ava Senior Center

Here’s a poem I’m sure every senior can relate to:  A row of bottles on my shelf caused me to analyze:  One yellow pill I have to pop goes to my heart so it won’t stop.  A little white one ...

Read More »